Chelsea Flower Show 2013

IMG_0749

IMG_0746

You cannot go in, only VIP’s.

The RHS Chelsea Flower Show has been held for 100 years so this year was a very important celebration. You will know already that Australia won first prize  for The Show Gardens category. Named the ‘Trailfinders Australian Garden presented by Flemings’. The designer was Phil Johnson of Phillip Johnson Landscapes. In the first photo, the people standing to the left – behind the grey wall are on an raised platform designed for viewing the garden. You can also see a line of people behind the wheelbarrow installation, they are waiting to get the prime position on the viewing platform.

IMG_0737My favourite show garden was The Laurent-Perrier Garden.IMG_0736

It was designed by Ulf Nordfjell uniting French and English landscaping design. Two women garden designers were the inspiration behind the garden. Nicole de Vésian in Provence and Ulla Molin in her private garden in Sweden.

IMG_0581Our expensive tickets bought online for a wickedly inflated price. The ticket says £55  but we paid £85 each and then they charged £34 VAT. At an exhorbitant price of £40 they were going to post them to Australia. I organised to collect them in London as I did not want them going astray. The good news is that I did not have to pay the scalpers prices of £200.

Will I return, not in the near future and not because I did not think it was all worth it, I just find as I get older I do not enjoy crowds. Am I becoming a grumpy old woman?

The Queen, lot older than me, I am sure never tires of attending but then she gets to go every year on a special preview day.  Her Majesty is number one VIP and why be the Queen of England if you cannot get the best tickets for free.

IMG_0586On first entering the show you find stalls either side of a long avenue.IMG_0589

There is plenty to spend your money on from gardening supplies, the good old huntin’, shootin’, clothes and accessories, then there were plenty of paintings sculpture, prints inspired by all things botanical.

IMG_0615

Carnivore plants

IMG_0613

There must be a lot of hothouses in Britain

IMG_0594

Never throw that old piano away or a chair for that matter

IMG_0654

I always display veg in my kitchen this way

IMG_0659

Pineapples are red! I did not even notice this on the day, taking photos pays off

It was early morning before the crowds descended, the avenue was easy walking. So avoid the crowds come with me and see a little of what we saw. If you love flowers then make sure you look at this post in your browser not just by viewing it in the email – do click on the images if you want to see any photos in more detail.IMG_0718

IMG_0700

I was so cold and insisted we buy some gloves, gardening gloves saved the day

And I got the mauve and black version.

Brick bats for not allowing us a pass to leave the show for a short time so we could go home and put on something warmer.

IMG_0701 IMG_0712 IMG_0715 IMG_0716

Yes we were in London not visiting a hill tribe in Thailand.

IMG_0634 IMG_0635 IMG_0633 IMG_0631 IMG_0628 IMG_0627 IMG_0624 IMG_0620 IMG_0619 IMG_0604 IMG_0612 IMG_0607 IMG_0600 IMG_0592 IMG_0598 IMG_0595 IMG_0596
IMG_0651 IMG_0656 IMG_0657 IMG_0658 IMG_0660 IMG_0661 IMG_0664 IMG_0672 IMG_0679 IMG_0681 IMG_0683 IMG_0684 IMG_0686 IMG_0688 IMG_0689 IMG_0690 IMG_0691 IMG_0692 IMG_0694 IMG_0695

Really happy I planted a big batch of bulbs before we left Brisbane for our end of year Spring.

  1. #1 by Debra Kolkka on June 30, 2013 - 6:09 pm

    I love those purple pom poms on long stalks. I have just seen them all over Helsinki.

  2. #2 by Shannon on June 30, 2013 - 8:48 pm

    Thanks Roz, this was almost as good as being there! Loved the huge tubs of tulips, and how do you get Agapanthus flowers to grow straight?

    • #3 by tastetravel on July 2, 2013 - 8:30 pm

      I believe you were looking at the upright Allium flowers not Agapanthus, they are the upright ones with mauve pom poms on top, so no remedy available for getting Agapanthus to stand to attention.

  3. #4 by Di Archos on July 1, 2013 - 1:03 am

    Roz, disappointing that you didn’t think the show was worth it as visiting the Chelsea Flower Show is on my bucket list. Thanks for the great pics. Looking forward to catching up. xx

    • #5 by tastetravel on July 1, 2013 - 1:09 am

      Di it was worth it, goodness did I convey that, it is a one off for we Aussies. Put it back on the bucket list. Roz

  4. #6 by Barbara Paroissien on July 2, 2013 - 5:06 am

    I thoroughly enjoyed my virtual walk through the Chelsea Flower Show and then the Chelsea in Bloom – wonderful photos – could just about smell the blooms. Thank you.

    • #7 by tastetravel on July 2, 2013 - 5:30 am

      Good to hear you enjoyed the tours with me Barbara, are you living in France or Melbourne these days?

  5. #8 by @ChristineSalins (FoodWineTravel) on July 2, 2013 - 5:42 am

    Lovely post Roz. Like you, I don’t enjoy crowds. I felt the same when I visited Monet’s Garden recently – beautiful, but just too crowded to appreciate properly.

    • #9 by tastetravel on July 2, 2013 - 7:19 am

      We visited Monet’s house and garden many years ago and recently it has had a reno but like you I could not bear the crowds.

  6. #10 by aussiegirl0905 on July 4, 2013 - 9:59 am

    I so wanted to go to the Chelsea flower show so I have really enjoyed this post. Now I am thinking – thank you from saving me from the crowds and the cold. Great photos

Leave a Reply

