In my Kitchen

Dearest Celia – (she who leads the sharing of this discussion) I may not be as regular as you but I will try.

Here is my May offering. I will be travelling soon and cooking in temporary kitchens so watch this space for kitchens abroad.

IMG_0117I have a new Tagine that I bought online. It has a malformed top but I won’t be sending it back.

IMG_1549

This is an original Tagine, witness the small hole in the top to allow steam to escape.

IMG_1538I cooked Moroccan Lamb for the neighbours who are going overseas.

IMG_1546 IMG_1547

I bought this Italian porcelain mould in Italy and hung on the wall for years but then I painted the kitchen and put it in the back of a cupboard and forgot about it. IMG_0102

The dessert is Bonet, a northern Italian version of French Creme Caramel. With the addition of amaretti biscuits, rum and chocolate it is unctuous and delicious. The Bonet made in the straight sided souffle dish went to our other neighbours who have been giving us eggs from their Chinese Silkie Bantams.

IMG_0106 IMG_0111

IMG_1475I have a new batch of my home-made red sweet chilli sauce. I made some last year but every time I opened the fridge door I felt compelled to shake it as it separated. I have now learned the trick of adding a little potato flour a good tip as it suspends the chilli rather than have it slither down to the bottom of the bottle.

IMG_0118I always keep Amaretti biscuits in my pantry, this time I have bought two boxes for $5, a special at Pennisi in Brisbane’s Woolloongabba. This brand is are softer in texture than most Amaretti. I used the drier version Amaretti biscuits I already had in the cupboard for the Bonet in case you are wondering.

IMG_1548I have replaced two Sunbeam Oskar mini processors in my Toowong kitchen and then the Sunbeam mini broke down in the Tasmanian kitchen last year so I am not longer wedded to buying that brand!  So here is my new Cuisineart mini processor. I have a large processor too but find a small one very handy for pestos, pastes, mayonnaise etc but when I began the search for a small processor only two brands had holes in the top to allow you to drip oil through the lid.

,

  1. #1 by Glenda on May 2, 2013 - 6:25 am

    Hi Roz, I love that tagine with the wonky top. I wouldn’t be sending it back either. It is unique:) The Bonets look gorgeous, and I bet they tasted good too. I am about to buy another food processor, it is the trouble with having two houses, you need two of everything. Celia has convinced me Magimix is the way to go. I would have bought it before now but we have just had massive vet bills:(

    • #2 by tastetravel on May 2, 2013 - 6:26 am

      My larger processor is a Magimix and is many years old and I dread having to replace it. They are so expensive.

  2. #3 by Paule Caillat on May 2, 2013 - 8:31 am

    Hi Roz, can’t wait to see you in Paris and show you my very rustic unvarnished clay tagines made by women bought in the Medina de Tetouan. We can discuss Moroccan cooking.

    Also intrigued by the Italian “bonet”, since crème caramel.

    A bientôt,

    Paule

  3. #4 by Lisa the Gourmet Wog on May 2, 2013 - 10:41 am

    Hi Roz, thank you for sharing your kitchen contents! The picture of the French Creme Caramal has me drooling.

  4. #5 by Celia @ Fig Jam and Lime Cordial on May 2, 2013 - 7:52 pm

    I don’t think I’d survive without my mini-food processor! Thanks for making the time to do this post, love, I know how busy you guys are at the moment! Love both the tagines, and I’ve decided your John is as brilliant as my Pete at finding storage options for their women.. 🙂 Love to you both.. xx

  5. #6 by Diane Tompson on May 2, 2013 - 11:34 pm

    The tangine contents look delicious. Maybe I should investigate one for Cremorne. I hope you get to Hobart next year, we have much to talk about. Have a great break oS. Love Di

  6. #7 by lizzygoodthings on May 3, 2013 - 12:57 am

    Hi Roz… am loving your tagines… I have a red one similar, without the wonky top… but that makes it really interesting! When I co owned a cookware store we sold the original clay ones… they are very popular. Thank you for sharing.

    • #8 by Roz MacAllan on May 3, 2013 - 1:21 am

      My confession is that I have never cooked in the large one, I never cook small amounts. But I warm it through and serve the food in the base. They are designed to go in big communal ovens too with the high top. One day I will try to cook something smallish from the get go.

  7. #9 by Pat Machin on May 16, 2013 - 5:12 pm

    A mini food processor has been one of my more inspired buys over the last few years. I use it a lot.

    I love your tagines and am tempted. (Get thee behind me, Satan!)

Leave a Reply

