Latest in my Toowong kitchen

IMG_0068

My friend Celia’s regular post of what is in my kitchen is always inspiring to keep track of our own busy kitchen.IMG_0069

I actually bought this whisk on the day I met up with Celia in Sydney at the Museum of Contemporary Art. I quite like the look and function of my new purple and pink kitchen whisk from the MCA shop – it is from Copenhagen and described on the box as a ‘sculpturesque’ space-saving whisk for the kitchen drawer or to hang on the wall.IMG_0066

Blue sheathed knife found on street on my walk, it was still in its plastic packaging so I know it was from Tarjay…

IMG_0073White ‘Ecology’ souffle style bowls from ‘Taste – for the love of Cooking’ shop. I bought 6 small ones and one medium, all $2 each.

IMG_0076A rice strainer from my travels in Thailand back up on the wall where it used to live. I had a square white plate up there and it fell down breaking into 3 large pieces.

IMG_0075So took down the remaining round white plate on the other side before it went the way of the other one and put up our Indonesian rice strainer –  its on the other side of the oven extractor hood just to add a bit of symmetry. They are at the right height for me to reach up and take them down use them to wash rice.

English: Cox's Orange Pippin Nothing quite lik...

English: Cox’s Orange Pippin Nothing quite like an Apple straight off your own tree. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

IMG_0067My friend Barb Heath has returned from her lovely Tunbridge house in Tasmania with some apple cheese (same texture as fruit pastes) that she made from her Cox’s Orange Pippin apples. Barb called over with this piece on the weekend and said she followed a recipe by Sally Wise.

IMG_0070A 100 ml jar of vanilla bean paste Chef’s Choice at $14.95 so I am hoping it is an improvement on the ‘Queen’ supermarket version.

Bamboo holderAnd finally I bought a bamboo utensil holder from Kmart for all my wooden spoons and gadgets in the vain attempt to declutter an overstuffed drawer.

  1. #1 by mary dickinson on April 2, 2013 - 8:32 am

    Lovely things Roz. You should see what I’ve taken out of my second drawer down & put away into storage!! ( Can’t throw them out!)

  2. #2 by Pat Machin on April 2, 2013 - 9:29 am

    I looked at one of those whisks last week up in the Yorkshire Dales and was tempted, but . . . I needed to know it would be practical.

    Now, I know and will get one when we pass that way again. Thank you. I shall read back through your posts – Art, Food, and Travel are my favourite things.

    • #3 by tastetravel on April 2, 2013 - 9:43 am

      Yes I have done the testing and can recommend it.Glad you found my blog and will look at yours tonight.

  3. #4 by Narelle on April 2, 2013 - 9:31 am

    HI Roz, Needed the explanation of the whisk … looks every space age. we had a bumper crop of figs this year so Richard has been in major fig jam production and is about to make fig paste with the last of the figs in the freezer. He makes a great paste he calls ‘fig paste with attitude’ where he incluses a couple of thin slices of very hot chilli. It is exceptionally yummy with some of our local Comboyne cheese. Kempsey Show is just around the corner so we are gearing up for our entries. It is lots of fun and keeps the show alive.

    • #5 by tastetravel on April 2, 2013 - 9:42 am

      Yes the whisk works well and I have used it several times in preference the traditional balloon whisk. Would I love some of that fig paste, well I will just have to call in via your place again, this year we considered on our way home but for the flooding….my best to Richard and thanks for reading the blog and commenting.

  4. #6 by Glenda on April 2, 2013 - 3:42 pm

    Hi Roz, I love that whisk!!

  5. #7 by bizzylizzycooks on April 3, 2013 - 8:05 am

    Wow, an interesting whisk! I sold cookware for a decade, but never saw one like that!

    • #8 by tastetravel on April 3, 2013 - 8:13 am

      It is a recent invention – I bought a stainless steel whisk in France that has similiar prongs but with balls on end, it works well also.

  6. #9 by Celia @ Fig Jam and Lime Cordial on April 3, 2013 - 7:11 pm

    Roz, does the whisk work well? It was SO nice to spend the day with you at the MCA – when I went back with Pete and the neighbours, I could tell them all about the flaying of Marsyas and I felt very knowledgeable indeed. 🙂 I really like those bamboo rice baskets – I watched them steaming rice in the Lao version of them on Food Safari the other night – do you ever use yours to cook rice in, or just to wash it? And serendipitously, we made apple butter last night! xx

    • #10 by tastetravel on April 3, 2013 - 7:56 pm

      Celia, I only use them to wash rice, they are too open to steam, I have another style basked for steaming rice. You know I have had those baskets since the mid and late1980’s pretty good service. And yes the whisk is working very well. Not sure if I will get the same service from it.

  7. #11 by Louise Martin-Chew on April 16, 2013 - 12:30 am

    This IS very interesting in terms of organisation and preparation in the domestic powerhouse:) of the kitchen. I recently bought Jim Jamie Oliver’s ’15 Minute Meals’ (for use when I am away) and the 15 minutes is achievable with application from the early chapters about kitchen set up and being prepared. My friend Miriam has exercising her “HausHarmony” skills on the rest of my house. The kitchen is next – can’t wait!

    • #12 by tastetravel on April 16, 2013 - 12:43 am

      Louise, I have a tray in the kitchen I use to put all ingredients out, sometimes measuring ahead too, so when I am ready it seems to cut down the time, any time saving ahead prep is useful so that when you actually go to cook you don’t resent the time it takes.

  8. #13 by Christine (FoodWineTravel) on April 24, 2013 - 1:23 am

    Lovely things in your kitchen Roz. The whisk is so cool (and practical to boot). And imagine finding something useful while you were out walking!

Leave a Reply

