In My Tassie Kitchen

Thank you Celia of Fig Jam and Lime Cordial blog, you have encouraged me to keep stock of my kitchen. Lobster season is now open and here is our latest catch. The amount of fresh produce and processed food in Tasmania is increasing and we always find new brands and many of them are artisan brands with small productions so we like to support them when we can.

My lead photo was nearly todays salad with nasturtiums picked on my walk and chive flowers from my garden.

Rhubru is the brand name of  the bottle of rhubarb vinegar we bought from Launceston’s Farmers Market.

We also bought a rhubarb and lavender base for our new welcome drink. Not a great lover of cordial but this one is for those special occasions when someone arrives, doesn’t drink our Tasmania sparkling but likes to feel they are also celebrating being in Tasmania. 

I love organic rolled oats and I found another Tasmanian brand.

We don’t have three ducks on the wall, just three starfish drying on kitchen sill.

The camellia was picked from the car park at our local plant nursery. I was inspired to buy some camellia plants for the house here. I bought three E.G. Waterhouse camellias, for horticulturists – official name Camellia x williamsii. They will look something like this one.


Our brand new ice cream maker, bought in Launceston. We have a red version of this brand in our Brisbane kitchen and for the price we are happy with it. I used to have a large one with a built in compressor but it died after many years of good service and we could not get it fixed, bet we could if we lived in Vietnam…

We have two cheeses from Yondover goat dairy, a fresh chevre style cheese (I am sure the French don’t like the chevre word along with champagne pinched either) and this firm goats cheese known as Bella. Now out of its wrapping and ready to serve. Yondover Farm House Cheese, Lilydale on the road between Lonnie and Scottsdale.

They offer visits – Farm open 10 – 4  seven days a week, take the children to see milking at 4pm.

Also from the versatile people at Yondover a salami made with goats meat.

All about hazelnuts is the name of Elaine and Steve Rayner’s hazelnut farm in Exeter, but unfortunately they do not have a website to share with you. We bought this bag from their stall at the Deloraine Craft Fair.

An apricot jam purchased from a Tulendeena farmers honour box stand. We bought it when we drove up to Scottsdale this week. ‘Like you have never tasted’ printed on the homemade label. I had a taste before taking the picture and it is different, reminiscent of dried pureed apricots. Maybe they dry apricots and use it for the jam. Not what I was expecting. I am contemplating ringing the farmers to see if I am right. I wonder what they will make of my phone call.

  1. #1 by malcolmenright on November 15, 2012 - 8:44 am

    make that call Roz, get a (bakers) dozen!

  2. #2 by Glenda on November 15, 2012 - 2:33 pm

    Hi Roz, you have some great things in your kitchen this month. I especially love the look of your icecream maker.

  3. #3 by Sous Chef on November 15, 2012 - 5:34 pm

    What a wonderful view you have in your kitchen! I love my ice cream maker, it’s not as posh as yours but it does the job. Those lobsters are drool worthy!

    • #4 by tastetravel on November 15, 2012 - 5:37 pm

      I created the main workspace in my kitchen to face the view, it takes any drudgery out of food prep.

  4. #5 by Lizzy (Good Things) on November 15, 2012 - 7:00 pm

    Hi Roz, love your kitchen, it’s full of goodies! Especially the lobster, the rhubarb products… and that view!

    • #6 by tastetravel on November 15, 2012 - 7:31 pm

      The lobster is a star ingredient in our kitchen – cannot bring myself to order it in restaurants when we get the freshest!

  5. #7 by Christine (Food Wine Travel) on November 16, 2012 - 5:48 am

    Hi Roz,
    Love the view from your kitchen window! Must be a joy to cook in your kitchen.

    • #8 by tastetravel on November 16, 2012 - 9:34 am

      Hello Christine, yes it is a joy to work with a view, I remember you from ASTW days. Roz

  6. #9 by Celia @ Fig Jam and Lime Cordial on November 17, 2012 - 9:06 pm

    Seriously Roz, you have the coolest kitchen! Does the icecream maker chill automatically, or do you have to freeze a disk? How wonderful that it makes two whole litres! The view is absolutely wonderful, and just LOOK at those lobsters! Freshly caught too! xxx

    • #10 by tastetravel on November 17, 2012 - 10:25 pm

      Celia, the ice cream maker does not chill/auto that is the version with a compressor, we just put the removable bowl into the freezer and put it in when we are ready to churn.

  7. #11 by Spoon Feast on November 25, 2012 - 4:34 pm

    The starfish are great! I am envious of your ice cream maker. I had 2 perish on me this last summer after many years of dedicated service.
    I love your kitchen.

Leave a Reply

