Luke Mangan’s Apricot Ricotta Cake

I am a big fan of using ricotta in cakes and my travels to Italy have rendered me a cache of ricotta recipes from its regions.  But I have just come across this recipe in the Australian chef’s Luke Mangan at home and in the mood cookbook and I just had to try it.

Ready for the oven

The cake’s filling of dried apricots lends a certain tartness to it and if you serve crème fraîche alongside as Luke and I have, it is almost a savoury dessert, sounds like an oxymoron but you have to try it for yourself to taste what I mean.

When the recipe said, butter a cake tin and coat it with raw sugar I thought to myself  ‘if it does not come away from the tin I will be very very cross’.

In my trove of cake tins, mostly the spring form type with removable sides I searched for the recommended circumference, Luke did not provide much detail so I assumed one with high and straight sides.

There is a school of thought in cookbook publishing that you keep the recipe methods short and concise so when people pick them up to browse they look easy to make. Sometimes that leaves you with some guesswork.  After years of using parchment baking paper to line tins or lining with butter/flour, I took on the butter-sugar lining risk. So Luke if you are listening, I never doubted the recipe would not work but was preparing in the event I had to slice it out of the tin.

Scientists say that if something does not work the first time, they just quietly work away at it until it does. Time is not an issue for them, but for chefs, they move on when something does not work the first time. They look for instant results and I am in that category, if it does not work there are other recipes to try.

To make life easier click here Apricot Ricotta Cake for easy printing.

,

  1. #1 by frugalfeeding on October 22, 2012 - 10:21 pm

    That looks SO delicious – apricot cakes are so yum.

  2. #2 by Celia @ Fig Jam and Lime Cordial on October 24, 2012 - 3:15 am

    Roz, that sounds seriously yum, but I can’t seem to get the photos to load?

  3. #3 by Celia @ Fig Jam and Lime Cordial on October 24, 2012 - 3:15 am

    Oops, no, please ignore that, they’re all loaded now. And it looks as good as it sounds! 🙂

  4. #4 by Glenda on October 27, 2012 - 2:37 am

    Hi Roz, I am no cake maker and so don’t like to take risks. I always line the bottom with baking paper, just in case. I like the sound of that one as it looks nice and moist. I usually overcook my cakes so they always end up dry. I am always on the lookout for recipes that can’t get too dry:)

    • #5 by tastetravel on October 27, 2012 - 4:58 am

      Well I took the risk for you, give it a go…. Roz

Leave a Reply

