Short soup lesson

We are currently enjoying hot steamy bowls of nourishing Short Soup, due to the skills and generosity of my friend Di who regularly drops by with a fresh batch. As we enjoy the soup so much I thought it time to learn her secrets.

I bought the pork mince, provided an organic egg and Di arrived with everything else – wonton wrappers, chopped water chestnuts, chopped mushrooms and finely sliced spring onions.

Here they are altogether,  ready to be well mixed by hand. I bought low fat pork but Di prefers the fatty version of pork as it has more flavour, I will get that right next time.

Here are the insider tricks.  Firstly scoop the mixture up with a chopstick, hold the wonton wrapper in a triangle shape and pat it into the top corner, fold over to cover and roll toward yourself. If you are clever like Di you can still hold the chopstick inside the filling and roll it toward yourself. I found that a bit tricky but will practice. The two points either end are twisted toward the back and stuck together. Di showed me how to fasten the two folded ends together the simple way. You simply dab one corner of the wrapper over some of the mince mixture, this moisturises the tip, a technique that saves brushing or patting the wrapper  with water –  like I might have done had I been on my own.

We did a couple of tests, to make sure we had the right amount of salt and pepper seasoning in the filling we cooked a couple before we carried on.

Our Cooks treat.

Now I have large batch in my freezer along with chicken stock for a home-made ready meal. It only takes minutes to prepare. Boil a saucepan of water for the wonton dumplings and whilst that is on the stove, place chicken stock in separate saucepan and bring to boil. This is another of Di’s tips –  to prevent clouding the stock as you cook the dumplings. Then place the chopped spring onion and anything else you plan to use, in your bowl. Once the wonton dumplings float to the top of the saucepan, lift out and add to the serving bowl. Then ladle over the clear chicken stock. You can add extra sliced mushrooms – we added a small dice of left over poached chicken.

Take some soy sauce and sesame oil to the table as extra condiments. I love these wonton dumplings and serve myself a greedy five when I am having a bowl for lunch but for an entrée three is plenty.

  1. #1 by Celia @ Fig Jam and Lime Cordial on October 4, 2012 - 5:47 am

    When I was growing up, this is the only thing my sister would eat whenever we went out. 🙂 It’s still one of my favourites, although I’ve never made it at home. Thanks for the recipe, Roz!

Leave a Reply

