What’s in my Kitchen

Another contribution to the kitchen lovers group led by Celia’s Fig Jam & Lime Cordial blog.

Brought back to life from the back of a cupboard is a small hand made cutting board that was once in another family’s kitchen. Message carved into the rim, front and back – ‘Mint and parsley you must chop’ and on other side ‘but please don’t use the table top’. To the person who made it, ‘even though your family gave it away I love it and use it’.

My French Copper saucepan re-tinned.

Corks back in place to protect fingers from heat

My home grown mushrooms in a basket I bought in Bali’s Tenganan village in the early 80’s.

Three little salt glazed dishes found in an Op shop near where I collected the re-tinned copper saucepan.

Another view of the latest Op shop bowls.

In my kitchen for a day only, but consumed by the time you read this. A Tasmanian truffle.

And in my kitchen waiting to be eaten are:

Two perfect poached eggs.

Here’s how – I am always being asked!

Half fill with water a non stick frypan, non stick not necessary but helps when cleaning the pan later. Add one tablespoon white wine vinegar to the pan.

Bring the pan to the boil, turn down to high simmer, add eggs carefully, I usually break first in a small dish and in my best slow motion act I tip the egg into the water.  Spoon the hot simmering water over the yolks as you watch them cook. Put the toast on now!

Use a fish slice to remove the eggs onto a plate so you can drain them of excess water, then carefully tip the plate and slide the eggs off onto the serving plate.

A cookie cutter can be used if you want them to look perfect but that is for restaurants.

  1. #1 by Glenda on July 23, 2012 - 2:20 pm

    Hi Roz – love your pan. I just had my French pans retinned in Sydney. There is noone I know of in Perth who can do it. Who did you get to do yours? Was it a local person?

    • #2 by tastetravel on July 23, 2012 - 8:26 pm

      I had the retinning done in Brisbane cost $250 very expensive and would like to know if Sydney is as expensive.

    • #3 by Glenda on July 24, 2012 - 1:59 am

      Roz, we paid $275 for 2 frying pans. We have had them done twice in Perth and once in Tasmania and had to have the coating melted off each time as they did not use pure tin. Each time we put the pans on the stove it just melted. It has been a very expensive exercise. We are yet to put the pans on the stove this time but Louis assures up they will be perfect.
      When we first bought them they were absolutely fantastic. We used them everyday for 5 years. Then they sat in the cupboard (and in various workshops and on planes around Australia etc) for 4 years waiting for us to find someone who knows how to do it properly. Celia put us onto Louis. His name is Louis Berczi, 25 Daphne St Botany. His telephone number is 0402 137 645. When we were speaking with him he told us that a restaurant from Fraser Island got him to do all their pots.

      • #4 by tastetravel on July 24, 2012 - 6:30 am

        Thank you so much for that info, my Tasmanian frypan also was not well tinned the second time, will look at NSW for next time. Roz

        Roz MacAllan Sent from my iPad

      • #5 by Celia @ Fig Jam and Lime Cordial on July 25, 2012 - 7:24 am

        Roz, Louis is the guy recommended by Chefs’ Warehouse. http://chefswarehouse.com.au/2012/02/02/mauviel-copper/

      • #6 by tastetravel on July 25, 2012 - 7:26 am

        Thanks Celia, I am cross my newly tinned frypan looks like it is already affected by heat, will have it done in Sydney next time.

        Roz MacAllan Sent from my iPad

  2. #7 by Celia @ Fig Jam and Lime Cordial on July 23, 2012 - 9:30 pm

    Roz, your copper pan is gleaming with gorgeousness! And how nice that the homemade chopping board has found a home with you. I have never been able to successfully grow mushrooms at home – no idea why. I must try yet again. Look forward to catching up soon! xx

  3. #8 by Christine on July 24, 2012 - 12:02 pm

    What a clever idea with the corks.

    • #9 by tastetravel on July 24, 2012 - 12:48 pm

      Not my idea, the French came up with it, of course I use French wine corks to be in the spirit.

      Roz MacAllan Sent from my iPad

  4. #10 by Lorraine @ Not Quite Nigella on July 24, 2012 - 12:43 pm

    Great items in your kitchen Roz! And your pans look brand new again, great job! 😮

  5. #11 by bizzylizzycooks on July 25, 2012 - 8:03 pm

    Hello Roz! What an assortment of gorgeous good things you have in your kitchen. When I co-owned a cookware store, we were often sending off copper pots to be re-tinned. Don’t they just shine so beautifully! I must start my mushroom kit, too! Happy cooking.

    • #12 by tastetravel on July 25, 2012 - 9:31 pm

      Make sure you keep the mushrooms covered, hungry possums where I live.

Leave a Reply

