What’s in my kitchen

Going through the cupboards again and taking items I hardly ever use to the op shops but in the drop-offs I inevitably return with someone else’s cast offs. I thought this square black and white plate with its optical art pattern for $9.50 good value. The little tart is a Galaktoboureko (citrus tart, topped with quince slices) from a new Greek savoury and sweet pastry take away shop, Spanakopita in New Farm.

I have blogged about what’s in my kitchen before, inspired by Fig Jam and Lime Cordial who started it off and now it is a regular post and other bloggers  have joined in.

I like it’s turned up corners.

I have never bought a separator for fat, thinking it another unnecessary gadget to take up space in the cupboard but I could not resist this one, a bargain at $5 and cheap enough to re-gift to the op shop if it does not earn its keep.

A rediscovery in the back of my cupboard is this metal fish mould, bought many years ago and only used once for a seafood mousse. It was summer in Queensland and I had to get everyone to eat it quickly before it turned into soup. I am going justify keeping it for a fish cake….

My silverplate coffee and teapot. Not bought on my recent ‘op shop’ splurge but a few years ago at the Salamanca Market in Hobart. I have just taken them out of the cupboard for a good clean. I do use the teapot regularly but often wonder if anyone ever has a use for these coffee pots anymore, I certainly don’t since I prefer my espresso machine.

But my big bargain I saved until last to share with you is this black tray by the famous Italian Alessi house, it cost a mere $6 –  yes only $6 and not a misprint, I could not leave that on the  shelf.

Do you love a bargain like I do and are you holding onto fairly useless items in the kitchen because you cannot bear to give them up. And what is in your kitchen at the moment.

,

  1. #1 by Celia @ Fig Jam and Lime Cordial on May 11, 2012 - 7:22 am

    Roz! Alessi for $6!! That has to be the bargain of the year! We have an oil separator too and use it all the time, and I just love that square plate – it’s very stylish indeed. Thanks for playing! 🙂 xx

    • #2 by tastetravel on May 11, 2012 - 7:25 am

      I recall you bought an oil separator so it prompted me when I saw it.

      Roz MacAllan Sent from my iPad

  2. #3 by ceciliag on May 12, 2012 - 12:38 am

    What fantastic shopping. i love a bargain and you obviously have the eye. i am looking at that separator and wondering if it would work the same for cream, the bottom half would just pour out the milk.. Hmm.. interesting.. c

    • #4 by tastetravel on May 12, 2012 - 1:01 am

      If you milk your own cows/goats could be handy, will throw that one back at Celia at http://www.figjamandlimecordial.com as she also acquired one recently.

      • #5 by Celia @ Fig Jam and Lime Cordial on May 12, 2012 - 1:56 am

        Hi Celi and Roz, we bought a stainless steel oil separator by Avanti and it works well, but it’s only very small – not sure you could separate much cream with it? Should work in principle though, I guess!

  3. #6 by bizzylizzycooks on May 12, 2012 - 11:53 pm

    Oh, I agree, Alessi for $6 is a baaaaargain! Is the fat separator glass or plastic? I couldn’t tell. I used to sell glass ones, ceramic ones and plastic ones when I had the cookware store. All reportedly worked very well. I have yet to get one for myself… those fish moulds are fun, aren’t they!

    • #7 by tastetravel on May 13, 2012 - 1:00 am

      The separator is glass, although so light I thought it was plastic at first. I like that you can see through it and hope it goes through the dishwasher ok.

Leave a Reply

