I like surprises

A basket of succulents given to me by my neighbours when they came to dinner. Sue and John are very experienced gardeners and manage to grow a wide variety of species by the sea. Sue gathered all the succulent varieties from her vast collection that she knew I did not have in my meagre collection.

Sue also gave me something else very special, a small purse she made of exquisite papers and for added value, it was filled with Anvers truffles. Anvers is a Tasmanian chocolate maker. Artist Sue Briginshaw also makes her own gift cards and I am building quite a collection.

This effort is way beyond a card.

Opening carton eggs and finding chicken feathers.

Friends from interstate arriving with my absolutely favourite chocolate from Belgium, Marcolini single origin dark chocolate.

I love bowls of fruit on the table and John came back one morning with Greengage Plums he had just picked from a friend’s orchard.

One night I could not sleep and I could see a light on in the living room, but it turned out to be a full moon despite the passing dark clouds.

Whilst preparing food at my kitchen window a whale popped up.  I keep my camera very close by.

And finally a photo of my mother who visited me in Brisbane and surprised me with hot pink flashes in her hair.

  1. #1 by Ron on February 18, 2012 - 3:07 am

    Roz, love that spectacular shot of the whale breaching. Mum looks great with those punk touches.

  2. #2 by Barbara Edwards on February 18, 2012 - 3:47 am

    Yes the picture of the whale was spectacular, and what a beautiful view. So nice to see Aunty Shirl looking well, Barbara

  3. #3 by Louise Martin-Chew on February 18, 2012 - 4:50 am

    Awesome breach from your passing whale! You must be like greased lightning with the camera.

    louise

    • #4 by tastetravel on February 18, 2012 - 5:13 am

      I keep the tripod mounted with the camera but not always the right lens on it, yes fast footwork. See you back in Bris next month. Roz

  4. #5 by Debra Kolkka on February 18, 2012 - 11:42 am

    What a lovely collection of photos! Great whale shot, I’m impressed.

  5. #6 by Celia @ Fig Jam and Lime Cordial on February 18, 2012 - 7:58 pm

    What elegant friends you have, Roz! The succulents look wonderful, but the purse is a true work of art! 🙂

Leave a Reply

