Mr Stein’s Stuffed Squid, a keeper

Two squid the line, too clever

My first squid on the line made me squeal, not so much with excitement but with horror when I was squirted with its brown sludge, it is the squid’s revenge. A couple of hours later I had the final say when it went into the cooking pot.

Rick Stein has a recipe for stuffed squid in his Seafood Odyssey book and I followed it to the letter, although I first time round I did make my own sweet chilli sauce.

Entree version

I did a seafood course in Rick Stein’s cooking school in Padstow last year and he is now the first reference when I am looking for new seafood recipes. I have over a thousand books to refer to but I know Rick’s are well tested and he does have an unquestionable palate.

Ready for the steamer

The squid are stuffed. You could do this ahead of time, place on a plate and cover with plastic wrap until you are ready to cook.

Asian steamer's top tray and lid sits nicely on my wok

Squid warning! –  don’t overfill as the filling does swell during cooking.

Steamed and ready to slice and serve

As a main we served it on a bed of rice.

The first version we served as a main after entree of local oysters. We are blessed living close to two oyster leases.

Hot and not too sweet sauce

I perfected removing the squid's two wing flaps in one piece

I had guests staying who are of Malaysian heritage and thought twice about serving something with an Asian influence, specially as I had not made it before but Rick Stein came up trumps, why wouldn’t he, whirling around the world all the time, running restaurants, writing cookbooks and best of all he spends a lot of time in Australia where there is no shortage of Asian ingredients.

Rob and Jan are my fishing partners, but Jan isn’t keen on the cleaning part so Rob and I got stuck in. He removed the heads and all the entrails and I worked on the wing flaps and the rest.  The official name for our catch is ‘Nototodarus Gouldi’ Gould’s squid or simply arrow squid.

The boat slip in Binalong Bay has this handy fish cleaning table that was supplied by local St Helen’s stainless steel fabricators ‘Fish Quip’. We just wash it down at the end and give all the scraps to the always hungry pelicans and seagulls.

My enthusiasm for squid had my husband heading into the East Lines fishing shop in nearby St Helens to look for some squid jigs, he could not be sure which ones to buy so I now have two.

I will remember to take off the orange plastic keeper

I had leftover stuffing so I steamed it in a flattish dish, and next day I used it as a filling in a sandwich for Rob pictured above.  The only thing I would change in the recipe is to add a little egg white to bind the filling a little better.  All good cooks cannot help tweaking each other’s recipes, I am sure Rick won’t mind.

  1. #1 by Ron Pirotta on December 23, 2011 - 7:50 am

    Roz, well done. Two quid on one jig, I can’t match that. Now that you’ve experienced the pleasures of jigging for squid, you will need to send John to pick up the remaining colours in the set, i.e. blue and orange. The finished dish looks absolutely gorgeous.

  2. #2 by Debra Kolkka on December 24, 2011 - 8:55 am

    The squid looked beautiful before you stripped them of their finery. I’m sure they were delicious.

  3. #3 by Allegra Biggs Dale on December 26, 2011 - 9:32 pm

    Hi Roz, Oh so yummy the fare you contribute. Adore your new kitchen, it’s simply sensational, I fell in love with the no handle look and feel back in 1997. We don’t eat biscuits, but have you a fabulously easy whole meal bread recipe you’d like to share? By the way, Cloudy Bay Beach House will be on the market early this year!

  4. #4 by Celia @ Fig Jam and Lime Cordial on December 26, 2011 - 10:52 pm

    Roz, looks like you had great fun! I love squid, and I have to say, I’ve never had a Rick Stein recipe fail me! Btw, I received a set of the bee glasses that I was admiring at Olivia’s place when we had lunch – Pete’s cousin bought them for me. I was very, very chuffed! 🙂

  5. #5 by Louise Martin-Chew on January 4, 2012 - 5:35 am

    this couldn’t look more idyllic!

    x

  6. #6 by Andrew Teo on January 7, 2012 - 2:50 pm

    They were ex-squid-zite and I should know coz my wife and I were the ‘guests of Malaysian heritage’! Reminds me so much of my own mum’s cooking so I felt very much at home. Thanks for doing something Asian for us! I’m going to try to do likewise on baby squid-Love to know what else was in the stuffing apart from prawn and mince pork!

Leave a Reply

