Amaretti for Christmas

Amaretti just out of the oven

These biscuits are one of many versions of Amaretti. If you need a quick recipe for biscuits or even as a food gift for Christmas these will be appreciated by all. Since I am currently in Tasmania I tried to use as many Tasmanian ingredients as possible. A recipe with so few ingredients did not give me much scope but the egg whites are Tasmanian free range. When I tried this recipe the first time I found I had to add more egg white to make a firm but soft mixture. You may need extra egg white on hand. Some recipes call for almond essence. That can be dangerous if you are heavy handed as almond essence can be acrid and ruin the taste completely. Since using vanilla extract in place of almond I find the taste is subtle and it suits the soft and delicate texture.

Almonds on top – I keep almonds with skins on in my cupboard rather than blanched almonds, they have a fresher taste. I brought water to boil in a small pan on the cook top, added the almonds and waited 2 minutes and quickly removed them. When they were cool enough to handle I slipped the skins off easily.
Open print friendly Amaretti recipe

Amaretti

Makes 18-20

1 cup caster sugar

125g ground almonds

2  large free range egg whites

½ tspn vanilla extract (I use Sevarome vanilla)

Blanched and halved almonds

Mix together sugar and ground almonds, and the egg whites and vanilla extract. Mix well with electric mixer and beat for 3 minutes. Put aside for 5 minutes.

Use 2 dessertspoons to shape Amaretti and place on greased and floured oven trays. Or use non-stick baking paper to line trays.

Place a split almond half on top of each and lightly press. Bake in a moderate oven 165c for around 12 minutes. Check on the Amaretti as they can brown quickly. Remove and cool on racks.

Store in an airtight container.

,

  1. #1 by Lynda on December 15, 2011 - 2:49 am

    Hello Roz
    What perfect timing. I have just made some Portuguese Tarts and of course I have left over egg whites, so I was thinking “what to make with them?” These will do just fine so I’ll let you know how they turn out. Thanks for the recipe.

    Have a wonderful Christmas and New Year in gorgeous Tasmania.
    Cheers
    Lynda

  2. #2 by malcolmenright on December 15, 2011 - 2:52 am

    Dan Cox in the studio (he’s a part time drag queen) asks that you save any well done ones for his Xmas presents . . . he says they’ll make good pasties!
    LOve from him & Jeweller to the Lost

  3. #3 by Lorraine @ Not Quite Nigella on December 15, 2011 - 10:46 am

    Good call replacing the almond extract with vanilla. I’m not a huge almond extract fan but vanilla, yes please! 🙂

Leave a Reply

