My memory place

One special place in my house is my intimate library/reading area. I have always loved spending time in this nook that I created around 15 years ago. There is a day bed that I had built under a window and I love to use this to read and occasionally have a 10 minute snooze. The wooden cone was a gift from my friend Di Tyshing. The set of blue leather bound books on the top shelf are the only remaining books from my childhood collection, no doubt about leather it does protect the books, they are in good condition although ancient!  The sculpture of a figure made from white sheeting is by Sydney architect and artist Richard Goodwin. The sunburnt lady in a bikini is by Colin Reaney. She acts as a bookend but the is no room on my shelves for bookends to do their work, they just sit at the front to be admired.

Two more ceramic objects from my collection.

So it is a place of memory as well as a place to read and sleep. It houses various basketware I have collected from Asia. A ceramic from Deruta, an Umbrian hill town known for its ceramics. The story of that large two handled dish is that we ended up paying for it by putting petrol in the tank for the owner whose car needed filling. He could not work the credit card machine as he was on his own on the weekend and he drove us to a garage where he thought there was an ATM machine.  Every so often I take it down and use it to serve a big Tuscan bread salad.  Then there is a woman’s traditional headpiece given to me when on a mountain trek in northern Thailand. One day I will find a decent display head for it. It just sits on a plate stand for want of something better.

The photograph on the wall is of Josephine Baker the performer whose career flourished in France.  John and I have admired her and we even visited the chateau where she lived with her large adopted family and animals in the Dordogne. Baker adopted children from all over the world long before Madonna or Angelina came up with the idea. We bought the limited edition sepia tinted photograph at the chateau. I often think about changing the upholstery, just to have a change but that would be money foolishly spent as I still like it!  It is a design taken from classic black ex lithographic images of chairs, fans, fob watch, keys, tassels etc. and printed on a ‘tea stained’ background.

A Jeff Mincham ceramic we bought from the Qld Potters Association and a Mitsuo Shoji platter (is very dark so doesn’t photograph well) I bought many years ago from the Victor Mace Gallery. Many memories. Have you got a special place?

  1. #1 by Barbara Heath on March 12, 2011 - 7:16 am

    I love this reading nook, what a perfect place to drift away in your imagination.
    I had a special place as a child, when I could still fit onto the windowsill halfway up the stairs. I’d pull the thick curtains and create a tiny space with pillows, a book and a view onto the garden below.

  2. #2 by tastetravel on March 12, 2011 - 7:22 am

    I am thinking about where it will be in my Tasmanian house, you will have to create one in that big house of yours in Tassie. Move over Mal.

  3. #3 by bagnidilucca on March 12, 2011 - 7:59 am

    That is a very neat memory nook – and very beautiful. Mine would be very messy.

  4. #4 by maryd on March 12, 2011 - 8:07 am

    I love seeing the books that other people read. Your nook is a very tidy one. I should do mine – perhaps on my blog- but I’ll have to tidy it up a bit, which is really not what it’s all about is it! It’s just a bit out of order at the moment after the flood…
    Great art works too Roz, and I love to read why things are special..

  5. #5 by Celia on March 12, 2011 - 10:17 pm

    What a wonderful collection of special things, Roz! No surprise this is your memory place…thanks for sharing it with us, it was a great read!

  6. #6 by Portuguese Kitchen on March 15, 2011 - 9:19 am

    I love this space! It’s something I’ve always wanted at my place. You’ve done a great job in creating a wonderful space for yourself. i love rading & have a huge collection of books.

    • #7 by tastetravel on March 15, 2011 - 10:01 pm

      Thanks for the comment, do you know where I can buy a Cataplana in Sydney?

  7. #8 by Dakota on March 26, 2011 - 7:20 pm

    Oh hell, why can’t this be MY ROOM, already. – Love these photos.

Leave a Reply

