Goodbye for now Binalong Bay

It is time to pack up and leave our summer home in Tasmania. I took some photos on my penultimate morning walk to remind me of how beautiful and changeable it is here every day. These are the new steps to the beach and new picnic table. We even have a new toilet block. I often take the steps and pathways the Council has carved toward the beach between the horizontal streets above Binalong Bay. They are short cuts down to the beach and each day I take a different set and always see something I hadn’t seen before, like a new plant, a shrub, a tree or even a detail on a house I hadn’t noticed before.

I will miss the passing parade of yachts from my kitchen window.

These yachts stayed overnight in Skeleton Bay. I was tempted to hang a sign out offering dinner in return for a sail with them.

I am going to miss my rabbits, they boldly come up to our lawn each morning and night to nibble and sometimes annoyingly make little holes. We have the fruit trees well guarded as they would love the new shoots.

Here is a close up because they do like to blend in. The little black blobs in the foreground are droppings from the Kangaroo wallabies also known as  ‘paddymelons’ that come up to eat the grass around 4am in the morning.The new cafe seem to be going well, even if the blackboard needs some attention.

Everyone visiting cannot help but see this monstrosity in Main Road. But not everyone hates it as I do. Neptune meets David.

David is Ken for the Barbie, a partner for the bikini clad woman who greets you as you drive in and although her proportions are all wrong I still look forward to seeing her each year as I arrive. This is the view I will see as I drive out today.

Click here for more information and beautiful photos by Michael Goldsworthy about Binalong Bay.

,

  1. #1 by Celia @ Fig Jam and Lime Cordial on February 26, 2011 - 11:06 pm

    Lovely parting photos, Roz! Hopefully it won’t be too long before you’re back again. They are indeed interesting statues. But I feel I should point out that Ken and Barbie are no longer a couple – they broke up a few years ago. 🙂

  2. #2 by louise martin-Chew on February 27, 2011 - 11:57 pm

    Very beautiful (except the public art:) but we look forward to seeing you soon in your autumn home? x

Leave a Reply

