Whats in my kitchen now

I am inspired or challenged by Celia who writes a widely read blog Fig Jam and Lime Cordial, see my link to her site on the side of my blog, listed under Blogroll.My ipod and ipad, can’t live without them. Love the ipad for quick cross referencing a recipe I haven’t cooked before.In my kitchen now is a supply of red cherry plums and yellow cherry plums some of which have been cooked into a smooth conserve.I am up to my armpits in jam making. I have not been a jam maker but it seems like the sensible thing to take up in Tasmania. Hard to resist the abundance of stone fruit Tasmania produces this time of year. The plums came from a friend’s house in St Helens so I sent her some jam and homemade jam drops.Here they are, before they went into the oven, never made them before but thought it worth the effort with my own jam.

A lobster just cooked, yes really we got one this morning.A fish bowl of shells collected locally.A bowl of Tasmanian walnuts, nearly finished but supplemented yesterday by a bag of local hazelnuts.

Sushi box made of Huon Pine, from Artisan Gallery in Robigana, that is north of Launceston – it stays on the bench, love looking at it. My battered kitchen mitt of a pair of Tasmanian blue wren birds. All the tourist shops here sell these. And a new apron with more birds given to me by my sister on her recent visit. I love it but it might stay on the hook and I will wear the navy one whilst making red plum jam. Thanks Celia when I am thinking I am too busy to write a blog post you come along and inspire me.

,

  1. #1 by Celia @ Fig Jam and Lime Cordial on January 17, 2011 - 7:56 pm

    Roz, thanks for the mention! Your kitchens are always so elegant! I’ve never heard of cherry plums before – are they called that because of their size? And I can’t believe you now live in a place where you can catch a fresh rocklobster in the morning! 🙂

    • #2 by tastetravel on January 17, 2011 - 10:20 pm

      Neither had I until I saw them on the tree, they look like giant cherries and they make a stunning show. The only way to cook them is to cook until soft (takes around 5 minutes max) and rub through a sieve as the flesh is equal to the stones, this part takes the longest, even a mouli is painfully slow. Might make a paste next time, where is that Maggie Beer recipe…

  2. #3 by bagnidilucca on January 17, 2011 - 9:09 pm

    Can I have a jam drop? I used to help my mother make those when I was a girl.

    • #4 by tastetravel on January 17, 2011 - 10:18 pm

      They are so cute, I might just make them again, not sure if the post office is up to delivery.

  3. #5 by louise martin-Chew on January 18, 2011 - 1:09 am

    Hi Roz, This is a lovely post. In a climate where many have lost many possessions it is salutary to remember how precious these objects become as repositories of memory, reminders of friends, family. Also glorying in fresh and available produce when we realise how dependent we are on regular supply of fresh food. Only a few days of disruption in Brisbane (all seems fairly normal again now) but we are dependent!

    • #6 by tastetravel on January 18, 2011 - 1:26 am

      thank you, at first I thought maybe a bit banal as a post subject – but I get it, thinking about what inspires you in your environment and what you appreciate, no matter how minor is good for the soul.

Leave a Reply

