A contemporary jewel in Bath, Tina Engell

On my walks around Bath I found the Barbara Heath of Bath, Tina Engell.  So you are on the same page, Barbara is a jeweller based in Brisbane, Queensland and Tunbridge, Tasmania. It must be said when she is in Tasmania, the main agenda for Barbara is restoring a Georgian mansion with her husband Mal Enright. It is yet another coincidence that I should be in the most beautiful Georgian town in the UK and come across a jeweller whose practice reminds me so much of my dear friend and bespoke jeweller Barbara Heath. Whilst her practice is in Australia she does sell all over the world but when I came across Tina I was reminded again of how jewellery is the sumpreme universal visual language.

So many designer jewellers are worth special support and recognition,they painstakingly sit over the bench for hours they do not care to note and then spend solitary hours on design. For the jeweller who undertakes commissions there is time and collaboration on designs with new and of course their habitual clients.

The gold bar resting on the table where you sit for a consultation with Tina.

Here are a few rings I like. Click on each photo and you will get a better close up.From the workshop into the showroom. When I was there a young woman came in asking about recycling a jewel into something new, exactly what Barbara does for many of her regulars.

Another concept – these rings of Tina’s have jewels that are set to pivot on the gold band.  You can buy one ring or two or even more to wear at once. If you wish you can commission one of these so you can choose the colour, shape and number of stones for each ring.

Tina Engell is also exhibiting at the Goldsmiths exhibition in London this year – 27 sept – 10 October. Would love to be there myself but alas I am in Paris where I am not without similiar stimulation.

  1. #1 by Debra Kolkka on September 25, 2010 - 6:13 am

    Beautiful things – and yes they also remind me of Barbara Heath.

  2. #2 by malcolmenright on September 26, 2010 - 12:10 am

    thanks Roz (and John)
    Barbara Heath’s p.a. here – mal E
    So thoughtful and wonderful words and sentiments passed to fellow bloggers . . .
    Travel safe & well until we squeeze again.
    There’s a great Bath shot on ephemeral-male, one of the ricksha images, here:
    http://ephemeral-male.blogspot.com/2010/05/here-is-powerpoint-of-my-new-old-artist.html
    . . . download the powerpoint and find the last image.
    Cheers and Love
    mal E + Bh

    ………………………………..

  3. #3 by Celia @ Fig Jam and Lime Cordial on September 26, 2010 - 12:21 am

    Sunday morning, Roz, and I’m catching up on my virtual travel with your fabulous posts. Thank you for sharing! It’s become a highlight of my weekends.. 🙂

Leave a Reply

