Fortuny is so modern


The historical textile company Fortuny is so up to date.  When I bought my Ipad I immediately looked around to see what ‘Apps’ I could download and found Fortuny not only have an App but it is FREE. I was inspired by my friend Debra’s blog this morning on the Florence weavers whose textiles she loves. If you don’t have an IPad but have an iPhone you can still download this App. In the meantime look at the beautiful website they have. It is also in English. Fortuny was both a couturier and fabric designer, he could pleat fabric so fine it could be threaded through a wedding ring.

We saw the factory on the Giudecca canal each day but they do not allow visitors to the factory. However the public can make an appointment to visit the showroom and garden.This exhibition at Fortuny Museo ‘In-finitum’ was on whilst we were there but it was not about his work, it was an exhibition of contemporary art from the 20th century.

We were visiting Venice for the Art Biennale and every day was filled with attending the exhibitions in the main and outlying venues. It was a full on time and I put the Musuem on the backburner when I discovered it was hosting this exhibition.  However we saw many examples of his designs in various shops in Venice from handbags and pillows to lampshades that were particularly popular. The museum is in Palazzo Pesaro degli Orfei.  Opens daily except Tuesdays. 10am-6pm – Campo San Benedetto. We have heard that the Museo building is fragile and only 75 visitors are allowed in at a time so I guess queueing is the order of the day.

In the meantime I am inspired when I open my Fortuny ‘App’. Roz

  1. #1 by bagnidilucca on August 11, 2010 - 11:26 am

    Hi Roz, Thank you for the information. I love Fortuny!

  2. #2 by Celia @ Fig Jam and Lime Cordial on August 16, 2010 - 9:53 pm

    Lovely textiles, Roz!

Leave a Reply

