My smoker oven

I love my smoker oven but if I am honest I don’t use it as often as I would like. It is one of those items that you clean, pack up and put away for next time,  unlike a barbecue that you have out in the open. So I have decided I will store it in the cupboard under the barbecue so I don’t forget I have one. 

Many years ago – would you believe fifteen years ago, when this smoker was put on the market I was actually given one by the inventor of Togar Smoker ovens and that was because I was in a position to write an article when I was a food writer. I have scanned a story I wrote for Country Looks magazine.   I have smoked eggs (you boil them first), quails, sausages, various cuts of meat, all kinds of seafood and vegetables. Smoking imparts instant flavour and you only need a small amounts of the smoked ingredient to add tons of flavour to a dish.

My smoker is a hot smoker so that means it is cooking the food fully at the same time as imparting the smoky flavour. The small burner in the base is filled with methylated spirits and you use sawdust in the base of the smoker but not just any old sawdust, it must be contaminant free – to avoid the resins in some woods which will impart an unpleasant flavour to the food. Buy some from a barbecue outlet or contact the Togar people (I have embedded the website in this post) to find out where to get it. When you use a smoker make sure the surface the whole thing sits on is non combustible.  You will need some good quality oven gloves to lift the lid – see my friend Celia’s blog for her bespoke adaption of welding gloves. I couldn’t think of anything more perfect for the task. Roz

  1. #1 by Debra Kolkka on May 13, 2010 - 4:47 am

    It all looks delicious. I look forward to trying something you have smoked.
    Deb

  2. #2 by malcolmenright on June 22, 2010 - 1:32 am

    Hi Roz and John,
    . . . yes I looked at this today. Ray in Launceston told us about re-tinning and we have discussed splashing tin onto some pieces in the upcoming show, keep you posted

  3. #3 by Roz on June 22, 2010 - 3:37 pm

    No idea how to place your comment back with the retin/copper story, but since you let me know at least I see it (in the smoker story) Roz

Leave a Reply

