French style pottery – Sale in Tasmania

The Artisan Gallery is having a sale, so I thought my Tasmanian based readers would like to know. Lisa and Rudolf run the gallery and are practising potters.  When I was there recently I liked the range of green and white tableware and cookware that share a rustic handmade sensibility I have seen on my travels throughout rural France. In fact when I mentioned the lovely country style ceramics I had seen in Provence  Lisa told me she was inspired by French pottery on her travels in the south of France. I have given the Artisan Gallery a mention on my blog before – that was when I bought handmade Huon-pine Sushi press boxes and wooden carved bangles in a range of Tasmanian timbers. 

Once upon a time (in the 70’s and 80’s) I used to be very involved with the Australian crafts movement and have met many potters and other craftspeople and have a soft spot for handmade ceramics. My cupboards are stacked with tea bowls, salad bowls, serving platters and casseroles. Now the very word ‘casseroles’ takes me back a few decades.  I am remembering the days we actually bought ceramic casseroles to slow cook dishes in the oven! Today everyone is buying electric slow cookers.

I also have collections of handmade objects in glass and now living in Tasmania I see a gap in my collection of wonderful objects in wood. When will it end?

I am supposed to be downsizing……famous last words because as you know you may just see something that you cannot live without. But seriously, I am definitely giving things away, mostly from my Brisbane home. I built up my collection over many years with a passion, particularly when I knew the makers, so it is very difficult to make decisions about what I can part with.

I only have one commercial dinner set and that is Wedgewood’s  ‘Solar’ design in simple white – it still gives me pleasure and I will be keeping it.  The rest of my dinnerware is handmade with the exception of some ‘Arabia’ ware from Finland which almost qualifies as hand made. So much of what I have collected for our home has become part of our ‘personal legend’ and since I am still a sucker for handmade things and still love to cook and eat from these dishes…… I doubt my collecting habit will be changing anytime soon. Roz

  1. #1 by Celia @ Fig Jam and Lime Cordial on April 30, 2010 - 9:26 am

    Such beautiful pieces, Roz! I bet you picked up some wonderful ones from your trip to Morocco as well. Just give in and keep collecting, I say! 🙂

  2. #2 by bagnidilucca on May 1, 2010 - 5:38 am

    Hi Roz, I love the pottery, especially the green and white pieces. I still use casserole dishes in the oven and love the ones I have collected over the years. I don’t know how you can part with anything. I have an Arabia platter, bowl and jug I gave to my mother when I was 17. She knew how much I loved it and gave it back to me years later. Deb

  3. #3 by elfreds@elfreds.com.au on February 24, 2011 - 5:09 am

    Hi there,
    Love the pieces that you have displayed on your website.
    I have a couple of the green plates with the spirals on them that you have displayed on your website. Can you tell me anything else about them and where I can get some more

    • #4 by tastetravel on February 24, 2011 - 6:28 am

      The details of where to acquire are on top of the story.

  1. Tweets that mention French style pottery – Sale in Tasmania « tasmanian food blog -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

