Carbones Cafe, Beauty Point,Tasmania

Carbones Cafe

When you arrive after a long drive (up the Tamar River) at Beauty Point there is not much to choose from in the way of food outlets but Carbone’s Cafe is large enough for those who do not think ahead about where they are going to end up and how hungry they may be when they get there.

I was a lonely diner on Valentines Day, hope no one was feeling sorry for me as I sat there enjoying the view and the excellent food.  My other half was on the mainland and not due back until the evening. The photo of the cafe is not the most flattering but the outlook was ideal with its large windows and outside decks all the better to spot the yachts on the Tamar. It is fully licensed.

If you are a person who looks at desserts before mains then read on. My dessert of raspberry and apple pie was delicious and looked a picture. The pastry was a sweet shortcrust with a slightly cakey texture, I liked it immensely.

In the meantime alone at the table, I was well looked after and that means the service was good as was the meal. I did not take any pictures of the food but if you have seen a good plate of beer battered fish and salad/chips etc there is not a lot of difference in presentation. My fish was the honestly named Gummy Shark which I had back home in the freezer ready to cook after I caught one a couple of weeks ago. I had put in the freezer to set the meat, on advice by locals. To go with my fish I was offered traditional tartare or a tzatziki Greek dip.  The combination of yogurt, cucumber, and garlic can be an appetizer or in this case worked so perfectly with fried fish that I will offer it at my table next time I fry fish. The cafe is on the main road along the water – a continuation of the Esplanade, easy to find.

Yachts on the Tamar Beauty Point

225 Flinders Street, Beauty Point 03 6383 4099

If you have a similiar experience at Carbones, write to me, there seems to be nothing on the web except to list its existence. Roz

  1. #1 by tastetravel on March 23, 2010 - 6:24 am

    Ken thanks for reading the blog. What went wrong – always a good idea to qualify a criticism so hopefully in an ideal world….they may get it right in future. Just had a disappointing experience today at lunch in Darwin, will be going on my https://tastetravel.wordpress.com blog very soon.

  2. #2 by peter clarke on March 21, 2012 - 9:38 am

    Hi Roz,
    Glad to find some other comments on the net, great review
    This place offers the best Breakfast in town, by a long way and location.
    Its was all about quality and freshness, at first I was a bit hesitant.
    After staying in Beauty point for a week we tried this cafe sitting right on the foreshore.
    I ordered the big brekkie and after receiving my order, I could see and smell what all the fuss is about.
    My partner had the Eggs Benedict 10 out 10 an A+
    I also order a large flat white and got a strong hot coffee, worthy of being Tassies best.
    Great value for you money, wish we lived closer, we would love to call this place our local.
    Peter

Leave a Reply

