Its a boy – lobster

I landed a thumper today, that is local vernacular for a huge lobster but regrettably for me, it was tagged and so I put it back to do its duty populating the bay.

The prospect of taking home a 3 kilo plus lobster was such a thrill until we found the tell tale ‘tag’ marking. My friend Rob put on gloves and lifted it out of the pot, I of course have developed new muscles so pulled my own pot out of the water!

Luckily I had my camera on board and that was because when we woke this morning there were plenty of yachts on the horizon, coming down the east coast toward Hobart, so we decided to brave the queues of holiday boaties at the boat ramp to get a better view.

Today was one of the best I have had so far on the water, we saw two pods of dolphins and one pod played with us – riding the bough wave at the front of our  boat for five minutes. Then more excitement….we saw two seals as they pushed their heads up for a looksee. We went on to catch a few fish and I landed a couple of baby gummy sharks, hope you can believe me when I say they really are quite endearing in miniature.

Return of the lobster

Family who are visiting are finding the existing image they always held of me is bafflingly incompatible with the new me, as they discover after their long sleep-ins that I have willingly disappeared in the early mornings to go fishing.

I have even surprised the image I held of myself. The other day Rob, had a dive around the rocks and his partner Jan and I took the boat on our own and had a fish. I turned around to Jan and said ‘I never thought I would fish, let alone be out on a boat with another woman fishing’. That was not a sexist statement, I just never even gave it any thought before. The new age term ‘Sea Change’ is an understatement for me, it’s a now a life changing experience.

I am wearing a ‘Stormy’ life jacket. They are famous, and made in Tasmania. You can unzip and remove the sleeves if it is warm and every year you have the jacket ‘serviced’, that means you get the inflatable detonating device re-gassed. There is no hint of my MAINLAND glamour when I am in my boatie kit. Roz

  1. #1 by Andrew Teo on December 29, 2009 - 2:37 pm

    Wow! Impressive catch! Love your gloves – I have exactly a same pair used for gardening!

    • #2 by tastetravel on December 29, 2009 - 9:12 pm

      Those gardening gloves are dual purpose!

  2. #3 by Louise on January 3, 2010 - 11:30 pm

    dear Roz

    I love this new image! Jim has been talking about his need for a hobby or something absorbing outside work… perhaps we need some sort of sea change akin to yours!

    louise

Leave a Reply

