Angelina tea-house for hot chocolate Paris

Le Mont-Blanc Angelina

Le Mont-Blanc Angelina

Paris is a city for walking, and after a day on your feet you deserve to stop and restore your energy with a pot of rich dark hot chocolate.

We cannot seem to better the experience than at the Angelina tea-room.  I once had a hot chocolate at Paris’s Café de Flore and on the day I thought it was easily a rival so I was torn about where the best hot chocolate could be found in Paris but recently (May 09) it was appalling. I have not had a hot chocolate experience that varied ever at Angelina.

Angelina was founded in 1903 and the interior décor has been maintained to reflect that period but I find the interior a little dull, however as soon as you stand at the entrance, waiting your turn to be seated, the cake display on your right takes over the senses and you greedily begin to calculate your selections.

To combine a cake here with hot chocolate is seriously sinful for the calorie conscious. It comes out in a silver pot with a bowl of extra cream on the side, there are at least two decent cupfuls in there. I once had the hot chocolate accompanied by Angelina’s equally famous Mont-Blanc, the recipe of which that they claim is a closely guarded secret. I won’t be repeating that combination and it is now reserved as my ‘death row’  final meal request.

Le Mont-Blanc is chestnut puree mixed with cream and piped out like vermicelli, onto meringue and chantilly cream.  I am not sure why they say it is a secret as I have had virtually the same in a Jewish cake shop in Sydney’s Bondi Beach. Here it costs 6.90 euros so that comes to around $12AUD.

The dark chocolate version is known as Le Chocolat a la Ancienne dit “L” Africain”  Angelina is also 6.90 euros and there is a white chocolate version for 6.80 euros.

It does not sound too expensive but at $24AUD a person, the bill for two people comes to $50AUD and you have only had a hot chocolate and a cake. So if you need to justify this expense think of it as lunch. Take a baguette sandwich for lunch and visit Angelina in the afternoon.

To prevent my stomach from doing a backflip particularly if I want one of their amazing cakes I take advantage of the wine list – you can have a glass of Kir Royal, a mix of raspberry liqueur with champagne. That costs 12.00 euros, and a simple glass of champagne, Coupe de Champagne Jacquart- Brut is 11.00 euros.  After two of any of those my husband is anxious to get me out of there…

Angelina’s most famous address is 226 rue de Rivoli in the 1st – very close to the Louvre and the other address which I have not been to is 2 Place de la Porte Maillot, 17th

If you love chocolate as much as I do, read the best book (in my opinion) on the subject by Mort Rosenblum an American who lives in France ‘Chocolate, A Bittersweet Saga of Dark and Light’.
ISBN -13:978-0-86547-635-6

  1. #1 by Lori on August 24, 2009 - 7:24 pm

    Is there anyway to order Angelina’s hot chocolate in the U.S.?

    • #2 by tastetravel on August 24, 2009 - 8:16 pm

      It won’t be hot by the time it gets there! But I see people buying take away bags of chocolate to make their own so maybe they do mail order.

  2. #3 by Lori on August 24, 2009 - 8:25 pm

    I would not be interested in purchasing it by the “cup”. I understand they sell it in packets. Do you know how I can reach them, i.e. website, e-mail?
    Thank you.

  3. #4 by Roz on August 24, 2009 - 10:36 pm

    Lori, I knew you weren’t expecting a french waiter at your door with a hot cup….When I wrote the blog I looked for a web address and again I have tried, there does not appear to be a direct web address or email for Angelina and I even have the latest menu of Angelina here on my desk, so I trawled the web and they are owned by a large group called the Bertrand group – so I looked it up and had to use the translation option in google to read it so try this site http://www.groupe-bertrand.com/angelina.php. Hopefully someone at Bertrand will respond but don’t hold your breath, if you get anywhere please let me know. I might be able to follow them up on my next trip to Paris which is only one day Sept 8 2009 but then I am returning next year for a longer stay, a bientot Roz

  4. #5 by tastetravel on August 24, 2009 - 10:41 pm

    Here is the phone number if you can speak French and don’t mind spending the money on a call –
    33(Paris) 1 42 60 82 00
    Roz

  5. #6 by Lori on August 25, 2009 - 12:14 am

    Roz,

    Thank you for your help! I e-mailed the company you found and will wait to hear back. I’ll let you know if I receive a reply. I live in Massachusetts. Are you local? Maybe I could pay you to pick some up for me when you go. I was just in Paris with my husband, sons, mother-in-law and sister. We went to Venice for a few days, cruised Croatia and Greece, then stayed in Paris for a few days. We fit so much into our 3 days in Paris, but not Angelina’s. Everyone is telling my mother-in-law we should have gone. I still can’t feel bad because it was the Louvre, D’Orsay, river cruise, Pantheon, Notre Dame, Versaille, Arc de Triomphe, Eiffel Tower, etc. … or Angelina’s. The weather was high 80’s low 90’s and hot chocolate really wasn’t on our minds. I just thought I could get some for my mother-in-law so she can feel the trip was “complete”. You seem to travel quite a bit. Lucky you!! Thanks again!

    Lori

    • #7 by tastetravel on August 25, 2009 - 12:23 am

      Dear Lori, you would not have been in the mood for their thick (custard like) hot chocolate in the hot summer, I definitely leave it out. Isn’t it amazing that you found my blog entry as I live in Australia. If you visit more of my blog you will see I am based in both Brisbane Queensland and in Tasmania, Australia when I am not travelling to other places in the world. My blog has other entries about Paris and France and I am constantly adding more experiences so all my friends stop sending me emails about where to go and what to do!!! I have never been to Massachusetts but I did live in Manhattan for a year back in the 70’s.

  6. #8 by Lori on August 25, 2009 - 12:34 am

    This is the first time I have ever used a blog. I came by it by googling Angelina’s. My sister has been to Australia and loved it. Maybe, someday I will visit. Thanks for all your help.
    Lori

Leave a Reply

